Below are the nominees for the 7th annual Current Archaeology Awards, which celebrate the projects and publications that made the pages of CA this year, and the people judged to have made outstanding contributions to archaeology.

These awards are voted for entirely by the public – there are no panels of judges – so  get involved and choose the projects, publications, and people you would like to win.

To read more information about each nomination

Just want to Vote?   then go here:

Archaeologist of the Year 2015

  • Michael Fulford (University of Reading)
  • Neil Holbrook (Cotswold Archaeology)
  • Simon Thurley (English Heritage)

Rescue Dig of the Year 2015

  • First impressions: discovering the earliest footprints in Europe (The Happisburgh Project)
  • Neolithic houses: exploring a prehistoric landscape at Kingsmead Quarry  (Wessex Archaeology)
  • The many faces of Silbury Hill: unravelling the evolution of Europe’s largest prehistoric mound (University of Reading)
  • The sacking of Auldhame: investigating a Viking burial in a monastic graveyard (AOC Archaeology/Historic Scotland/University of St Andrews)
  • Buried Vikings: excavating Cumwhitton’s cemetery (Oxford Archaeology North)
  • Bodyguards, corpses, and cults: everyday life in the Roman military community at Inveresk (National Museums Scotland/AOC/CFA/GUARD/Northlight Heritage/Glasgow University)

Research Project of the Year 2015

  • How to build a dolmen: exploring Neolithic construction at Garn Turne (University of Central Lancashire/University of Manchester)
  • Maryport’s mystery monuments: investigating gigantic timber structures from the imperial twilight (Ian Haynes and Tony Wilmott, Newcastle University)
  • Rethinking the Staffordshire Hoard (Birmingham Museums Trust/Potteries Museum & Art Gallery/British Museum/English Heritage/Fern Archaeology/Eleanor Blakelock)
  • Exploring Anglo-Saxon settlement: the origins of the English village  (John Blair, University of Oxford)
  • The logboats in the lake: Bronze Age wrecks and Viking-style battleaxes from Lough Corrib, Ireland (Underwater Archaeology Unit)
  • Piddington uncovered: beyond the Roman villa (Roy and Diana Friendship-Taylor)

Book of the Year 2015

  • Time’s Anvil: England, archaeology, and the imagination (Richard Morris)
  • Religion in Medieval London: archaeology and belief (Bruno Barber/Christopher Thomas/Bruce Watson)
  • The Secret History of the Roman Roads of Britain  (Michael Bishop)
  • The Great Archaeologists (Brian Fagan)
  • The History of Archaeology  (Paul Bahn)
  • Home: a time traveller’s tales from Britain’s prehistory  (Francis Pryor)

Voting closes on 6th February 2015, and the winners will be announced at the special awards ceremony on 27th February at Current Archaeology Live! 2015. Entry to the awards reception is included as part of the ticket for CA Live!, for more details click here.